New national champions after National Sprint Champs on Saturday

Richard Morgan

Richard Morgan was crowned the Men’s BVI National Sprint Champion on Saturday after completing the sprint triathlon in one hour, 18 minutes and 9 seconds.  He beat second-placer Adrian Dale by one minute and 26 seconds; Peter Wilmott was third. Kay Reddy is the Ladies BVI National Sprint Champion after completing her swim, bike and…

Read More

Ghiorse, Pettigrew and MZS top 2011 National Sprint Champs

Chris Ghiorse won the individual men’s, Carolina Pettigrew the individual women’s, and MSZ the team competition, in the 2011 National Sprint Champs held on Sunday June 12, out of the Sandy Ground Boatyard at West End. Ghiorse and Pettigrew recorded times of 1:13:36 and 1:30:48 respectively in the sprint distance event with a 750m swim, 20k ride and 5 km. Antony Spencer, last year’s champion, was a mere 19 seconds behind Ghoirse having closed the gap on the run after Ghiorse finished the bike ride with a gap of one minute and 23 seconds.

Read More

2011 National Sprint Championships

The 2011, like 2010 National Sprint Championship, will be held completely on the flat. The event, to take place on Sunday June 12, will be held out of the Sandy Spit Boatyard at West End and will be sprint distance: swim, 750 m (0.47 mi); ride, 20 km (12.4 mi); run, 5 km (3.1  mi).

The 750m swim will take place in Soper’s Hole, the 20k ride will head to Struggling Man’s Cafe in Sea Cow’s Bay and back, and the 5k ride will be to Big Ben’s Superette and back. The race will start at 7.30am.

Read More

National Sprint Champs date changed to Sunday, June 12

The date for the National Sprint Championships has changed to Sunday, June 12th. Please change your diaries! This event is completely on the flat, read last year’s report here. The event is open to individuals and teams, check out last year’s results and times.

As part of your training, compete in the BVI Cycling Federation Time Trial this Sunday and the Swim The Sound on June 5th!

Read More