Smuggler’s Cove Aquathon:  Saturday, September 24th
Brewer's Bay Aquathon: Sunday, October 16th
Peter Island-Athlon: Saturday,  November 19th

Each event will have two distance options, but those competing for national champion glory must complete the longer course.

Short Course is 2 legs: 400 metre swim/1 mile run.  Open to individuals only.

Long Course is 4 legs: 800 metre swim/2 mile run/800 metre swim/2 mile run.  Open to individuals and teams (any number in a team up to a total of 4 persons)



Place points (all events count, no discards)

1st – 16
2nd – 12
3rd –  9
4th – 7
5th – 5
6th – 4
7th – 3
8th- 2
9th – 1

Standings After 2 Events


1Rachel Mayo-Smith91625
2Kay Reddy121224
3Tash Ruscheinski16016


1Antony Spencer121628
2Adrian Dale91221
3Mickey Ennis16016
4Ray Wearmouth707
5Gary Salter505

Brewer's Bay Aquathon Results

  TOTAL TIMESwim 1 timeRun 1 TimeRun 1 FinishSwim 2 timeSwim 2 finishRun 2 timeRun finish
#Mens Long Course
1Antony Spencer61:32:0013:0514:4830:03:0014:32:0044:35:0015:00:0061:32:00
2Adrian Dale67:05:0016:1614:5932:41:0018:09:0050:50:0014:50:0067:05:00
Ladies Long Course
1Rachel Mayo Smith67:23:0016:1315:4633:37:0017:49:0051:26:0014:40:0067:23:00
2Kay Reddy68:45:0016:0715:5333:36:0017:37:0051:13:0016:05:0068:45:00

Smugglers Cove Aquathon Results

  TOTAL TIMESwim 1 timeRun 1 TimeRun 1 FinishSwim 2 timeSwim 2 finishRun 2 timeRun finish  
#Mens Long Course
1Mickey Ennis58m45s9:3119:1228:43:0011:10:0039:53:0018:52:0058:45:00
2Antony Spencer1hr02m50s10:1722:5533:12:0011:14:0044:26:0018:24:0062:50:00
3Adrian Dale1hr03m11s13:4417:5131:35:0014:18:0045:53:0017:18:0063:11:00
4Ray Wearmouth1hr04m34s12:1118:5331:04:0013:29:0044:33:0020:02:0064:35:00
5Gary Salter1hr05m36s12:4618:3931:25:0014:36:0046:01:0019:35:0065:36:00
Ladies Long Course
1Tash Ruscheinski1hr00m48s9:2620:0729:33:0010:50:0040:23:0020:25:0060:48:00
2Kay Reddy1hr08m11s12:5119:3932:30:0014:09:0046:39:0021:32:0068:11:00
3Rachael Mayo-Smith1hr09m38s14:4019:5134:31:0015:50:0050:21:0019:17:0069:38:00
Short Course
1Sarah Carroll17m20s7:0210:1817:20:00
2Aurelie Legangneux20m01s7:4812:1320:01:00
3Amy Quale20m19s8:1512:0420:19:00
4Chris/Owen Graham20m32s8:5111:4120:32:00
5Michael Fay21m30s7:4013:5021:30:00
6Cat Hunter22m42s9:2313:1922:42:00
8Nicole Toppin24m13s10:0714:0624:13:00
1Kim & Mark53m22s10:3115:1325:44:0011:05:0036:49:0016:33:0053:22:00
2Andy & Derek57m06s11:4615:2927:15:0012:51:0040:06:0017:00:0057:06:00
3Shelly & Kendra59m20s12:3516:1128:46:0013:02:0041:48:0017:32:0059:20:00
4Gillian & Anna67m45s14:2718:2232:49:0015:13:0048:02:0019:43:0067:45:00

Johanna Murphy Sets New Ladies Record; Flying Frenchman Takes 2019 BVI Steelman

November 17, 2019

Philippe Leroy (2:32:45) and Johanna Murphy (2:48:35) Top The Field; Johanna breaks record held by Sally Blackmore since 2011 After a Hurricane Irma induced “Gap Year” the BVI Steelman returned on Beef Island with a simplified swim leg. Returning to the start line after a 15 year sabbatical BVI triathlon legend Philippe Leroy a former 5 times BVI national triathlon champion was looking confident and had even invited the press along to document his efforts. There was also a welcome return from Joe MCcIvor after a two year sabbatical sailing solo backwards and forwards across the Atlantic. A new simplified swim course didn’t effect the usual order on the swim with Shane Donovan and Tash Ruscheinski dominating from the start. The swim progressed true to form until Philippe veered off course heading for a stray lobster pot on the shores of Tortola returning to land with a few choice words which will not be printed in this column. In the team event Christian Hidlago and Clifton Struiken set off neck and neck on the bike whilst Colm Rafferty after a fine swim, heading Aaron Gardner, Joe McIvor, Dan Mitchell and Philippe in the Men’s with Sarah Bolt narrowly heading Johanna Murphy in the ladies. The bike leg settled down with Christian and Clifton in the lead group, still neck and neck, Dan, Aaron and Johanna working hard to catch them and Philippe riding like the wind attempting to overhaul the entire field. In the Ladies event Johanna put in a strong bike leg and run to finish ahead of a brave Sarah Bolt, and broke the ladies record held by Sally Blackmore since 2011. Johanna took 1 minute and 10 seconds off the 2011 time. In the team event Christian was unable to shake Clifton on the bike, who then strode off superbly on the run. In the Mens event Philippe’s remarkable bike leg put him first whilst Dan Mitchell held off a fast finishing Joe McIvor for second followed by Colm and Aaron. A great effort with everybody finishing BVI’s toughest triathlon event.

Read More

National Sprint Champs Kicks Off 2019 Season

April 18, 2019

After a Hurricane Irma induced “Gap Year” the BVI National Sprint Championship returned on a new course on Beef Island.

Read More

Mitchell & Ruscheinski Defend National Champ Titles

April 27, 2018

In the 2017 National Sprint Champs, Dan Mitchell and Tash Ruscheinski successfully defended their 2016 mens and ladies titles.  Shane Donovan was second, and Rob Mayo-Smith was third in the mens division.  Cat Ouriach was second in the ladies division.

Read More