Spencer, Ruscheinski and Appleby Top 10th TSC Tri

Posted in


In the tenth edition of the TSC Tri, Antony Spencer successfully defended his 2014 title, Tash Ruscheinski topped the ladies field after her second place last year, and Appleby snatched the Corporate Cup from Deloitte setting a new corporate team record in the process.

Antony posted a time of 1 hour, six minutes and seven seconds, a minute slower than his course record-setting time last year, but enough (by 59 seconds) to beat young pretenders Richard Morgan and Russell Crumpler to second and third place respectively.


This was Antony’s fifth victory having won the inaugural event in 2005, the second event in 2006, then again in 2008. After a long six-year drought he roared back to form in 2014.

Tash took three minutes off her 2014 time, finishing in 1 hour, 14 minutes and 37 seconds, but narrowly beat Jenny McIvor, an up and coming lady, by a mere 20 seconds. Kay Reddy was third.


Appleby fielded two teams to wrestle glory from the other corporate entrants and Appleby 1 – Jeff Kirk, Gareth Thomas, and Adam Holdt – took the victory. They set a new corporate team record of 1 hour, three minutes, and 28 seconds, taking two and a half minutes off the record set by Ogier in 2012. Ernst & Young was second and Deloitte was third.

The Hoohaas, a strong all-women team comprising Tash Ruscheinski, Rowena Lawrence and Kat Crumpler, won the open team division, finishing 28 seconds ahead of Tri-2-Hards, who in turn finished 47 seconds ahead of Tri-Agra.

The TSC Tri is the first event of the 2015 BVI triathlon season and consists of a 750m swim, 20k bike ride and 5k run.

Next event is the X-Tri at Smuggler’s Cove on Saturday, March 21.