National Sprint Champs this Saturday

BVITRI-national-sprint-champs-2011-20The 2012 BVI National Sprint Championships will take place this Saturday (April 28) at Sandy Ground boatyard, Sopers hole.  Event consists of 750m swim, 20km ride (To Struggling Man’s Cafe in Sea Cow’s Bay and back), 5km run (To Big Ben’s Superette and back). The race starts at 7am and registration will be at the Tortola Sports Club, April 27th, from 6pm.  Cost is $30 per person.

Last year Chris Ghiorse won the individual men’s, Carolina Pettigrew the individual women’s, and MSZ the team competition.  Ghiorse and Pettigrew recorded times of 1:13:36 and 1:30:48 respectively in the sprint distance event with a 750m swim, 20k ride and 5 km.  Antony Spencer, the previous year’s champion, was a mere 19 seconds behind Ghiorse having closed the gap on the run after Ghiorse finished the bike ride with a gap of one minute and 23 seconds.