Morgan Wins Steelman Crown

Posted in

Richard Morgan overhauls Antony Spencer

In the 2012 BVI Steelman triathlon held on Saturday (Nov 10), defending men’s champion Antony Spencer snatched defeat from the jaws of victory on the final furlong.  Young pretender Richard Morgan slowly reeled Spencer in on the run to eventually win with a time of 2 hours, 33 minutes and 24 seconds, beating him by 2 minutes and 24 seconds.  Liezl Van Der Schyf comfortably won the women’s division with a time of 3 hours, 1 minute and 19 seconds; Henkle were the team winners with a time of 2 hours, 42 minutes and 51 seconds.

The BVI Steelman, an Olympic distance triathlon and the most challenging event on the BVI Triathlon Federation calendar, took place at Beef Island.  The event comprised a 1500 metre swim held in Well Bay, a 25-mile bike leg lapping the road from the airport to the ramparts of Beef Island Bridge, and ended in a six-mile run along the roads and trails of Beef Island heading towards Minines.

Morgan exited the waters of Well Bay almost five minutes behind Spencer but managed to close the gap to 49 seconds on the bike ride.  Over the course of the six mile run, Morgan snapped at Spencer’s heels eventually overhauling him and pulling away to widen the gap to his eventual 2 minute victory over Spencer.

The current course record of 2:27:03 was set in the 2008 event by Chris Ghiorse.


Men’s Division

Richard Morgan – 2:33:24
Antony Spencer – 2:35:48
Andrew “Tubes” Thompson – 2:47:11
Adrian Dale – 2:48:07
John Argyros – 2:51:48

Women’s Division

Liezl Van Der Schyf – 3:01:19
Joanna Dunne – 3:16:28
Tia Beckman – 3:17:51
Gillian Howe – 3:20:22
Allison Beer – 3:26:05
Kay Reddy – DNF


Henkle – 2:42:51
The J Team – 2:44:59
Gazza’s Netball Team – 3:04:45
Government House – 3:11:06


Click here for full results